New Mom and New Wife figuring it out one day at a time…

Girl Talk Thursday

Ten Bucks to get dinner on the table.

For quite a long time I was a fan of dinner from a box or a restaurant. I let my sister be the one who explored cooking. I made desserts and that was about it.  Since I got married and became a mommy I have started to experiment with cooking, in fact its one of the things that surprised my husband. He and I met in a restaurant, I was a hostess and he was a chef. I always assumed he would do the cooking, if only I knew better! Thank goodness I have learned to love experimenting with cooking.  Recently I have been making all sorts of salads and I am pretty sure Ican get away with those for under ten bucks.

Ingredients:

Chicken breasts

Romaine Lettuce

Ranch Dressing ( or your choice dressing)

Teryaki Marinade

Cheddar Cheese.

Its simple. 1)Tenderize chicken 2) put in marinade for 30 minutes ( or a whole day like I do) 3) Cook chicken and cut up on top of salad.  Salad contains lettuce, sprinkles of cheese and dressing and I have also included diced almonds but that might be a bit extra. Plus I usually buy all Store brand items which is what helps make it so cheap. Try it, my husband loves it, I hope you do too!

4 responses

  1. Sounds yummy! And teriyaki-marinated anything is deliciousness!

    March 11, 2010 at 11:29 am

  2. I love making different types of salad and they are really cheap to put together. I’ll have to try out a marinade, I’ve never used one LOL.

    March 11, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  3. Sounds delish! I bet the teriyaki with the ranch creates a great flavor!!

    March 11, 2010 at 4:33 pm

  4. I did teriyaki yesterday with fish. nom nom nom.

    March 11, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Leave a Reply

